Chosen Solution

This is my progress on removing the anti-glare coating after 2 hours. I tried Listerine, 90% alcohol, Peek Metal Polish, anti-bacterial wipes, bleach, and nail polish remover w/ acetone (before I read that someone else damaged the glass itself because of acetone). Luckily, my glass is still fine. Unfortunately, I haven’t made much progress as you can see from the picture. I’m confused to why none of the solutions isn’t working for me. Some said that Listerine alone worked well along with a microfiber cloth. I tried that but since it didn’t work I moved on to try all the other solutions I mentioned. Is anyone else having this issue dispite of trying all kinds of solutions? And is there any other alternatives that would make it simple to remove w/o much time being spent?

I completely removed mine using a “Mr Clean Magic Sponge.” My screen is now gorgeous and 100% not scratched, however, of course, it is very reflective.

I took mine to the Apple Store, only to learn the extended warranty was over.

I stopped for Clorox Disinfecting Wipes on the way home and this was after about two minutes of wiping. Before and after:

Ridiculously easy. And no, I don’t notice any screen glare now that the coating’s gone.

Have a look at this thread, lots of different experiences and products used, hope you can find the one suitable for your needs. Some report quick and easy results with commonly available wipes and cleaners. Apple ‘StainGate’ Screen problems - looking for quick, viable solution

I used a solution of caustic soda and it removed it in a matter of minutes. Had tried all the other solutions prior with no luck. Make sure you wear gloves and eye protection and make sure you squeeze out your applicator so no water gets into your screen when you are rubbing.

How about getting it fixed under the extended warranty program I think its still running for this series StainGate.Org. Its getting close to the end so check your purchase date and don’t waste time!

It took me less than 30 min… : a heavy duty automotive rubbing compound no.7 did it all for me. Got a beautiful shiny and clear Macbook pro again!!!!

you can see on this video very easy to fix: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E18PUg9z

I used the turtle wax headlight restoration kit and it took 98% of it off in less than 10mns. It’s a slow process since the screen is so delicate but it does comes off quick.

99p worth of glasses wipes from Aldi and 30 mins of patience will remove it all. Dissolves it. Does not damage the glass at all. Takes about 30 different paper wipes otherwise you just smear it all about. The brand is EYEWEAR Cleaning wipes for spectacles, cameras and other optical devices. Ingredients are just water and alcohol.