Chosen Solution

Windows won’t work. I only see a black screen with a mouse cursor, and I can’t even install Windows. When Windows setup loads, I see the same $@$* black screen and mouse cursor, and shift F8 (or on Asus F9) doesn’t open an advanced startup options menu! So, I can’t do a system recovery or turn the computer on in safe mode… What should I do?

Does this laptop have a optical drive can you us a recovery disc if not load a usb with a windows install and run the repair feature .If your unfamiliar with the process let me know and will guide you through it. Hope this helps

Are you able to go into the BIOS settings? Many Asus notebooks got a feature called “Boot-Booster” which skips parts of the boot-process. Try to disable this feature (BIOS –> Boot –> Boot-Booster) and try to start the Asus recovery again.

hit alt-f10 key that will bring you to advanced repair options