Chosen Solution

May need to re-flow a BGA chip on a LG TV’s mainboard. I understand that the temperature regimen is the key to success. Therefore, please suggest the best methodology. Please specify all stages for warm up and cool down with temperatures and durations for each. Also, do you believe a heat gun with a thermometer is enough or should I get a relatively inexpensive re-flow station where temperature can be set? Recommendations for liquid flux and thermal paste brands or whatever other advice on topic is greatly appreciated. I would like to mimic the manufacturing process as closely as possible to get a lasting result, so if it helps, my TV is a 10 year old LG LED TV Model: 55LV5400-UB

I wouldn’t try to reflow these chips just yet. What I would suggest is to heat them up at 200 degrees Celsius with a quick hot air station or similar. Use good flux like Amtech NC-559-V2-TF.  If this doesn’t provide a result you could than try to reflow them. I suspect a temp of around 450 to 500 would do with airflow about half. You need to remember if the pads have become oxidised this will be only a temporary fix.