Chosen Solution

I’m attempting to flash an iPhone 5s that has an unresponsive home button using 3U tools. 3U tools has put it into recovery mode but requires the phone to be put into DFU mode to continue. However, the home button isn’t working so I can’t manually enter DFU mode. Is there a way to enter DFU mode without pressing the home button? I have tried fitting another button from a damaged phone but it doesn’t work either. I’m not sure if both buttons are broken or if there is a problem with the phone.

you don’t need a screen on the phone to enter dfu or restore. if the phone won’t restore from recovery mode you likely have a hardware issue. I don’t know of a way to get into DFU without the home button. (you can attach home button without the screen). What error do you get restoring from recovery mode?