Chosen Solution

The phone was placed in a glass of water by mistake. It was dried and put in rice bowl for over a day. The phone turns on but all I see is flickering screen with pink/white lines. I opened the phone and disconnected the LCD screen connectors, removed the cases on the circuits and dried the inside with a piece of cloth. I noticed a few corroded screws (top right), so I opened that case and dried it. Connected everything back and turned the phone on, I was able to see Apple logo, and then as soon as it turns on, the screen is unresponsive and fades away with white/pink lines. Have not tested the isopropyl alcohol thing yet and not sure what I need to do next? Please assist.

Hi Roger, The biggest mistake was putting it in rice, this does absolutely nothing, I would highly recommend you take it to a repair shop, where they will clean it with an ultrasonic cleaner, this is the most effective way of cleaning liquid damage. 99.9% Isopropyl alcohol will help, but since you don’t own an ultrasonic cleaner, you would be using a toothbrush, which is no where near as effective. :-)