Chosen Solution

So I went to the pool 4 days ago, and I wasn’t thinking and jumped in the water with my iPhone 6 in my pocket. After about 10 seconds, I realized and took it out, and powered it off immediately. Since then, I have left the phone in a bag of rice for 3 days. I thought this would be enough, but it wouldn’t turn on after I took it out, even after I tried to give it a hard reset. So today I opened the phone, only to find water still inside. I let it dry for 5 hours, then used cool air from a hair dryer to dry it out even more. After plugging it all back up, I rebooted it, and it works! However, the lcd screen is very spotty and the backlight is uneven, which I can live with. Now the only problem is my phone cannot find cell service, it is stuck on “Searching…”. Also the battery is draining about 10x faster than normal, which is a pain. Does anyone know what I can do to fix this cell service problem? I am comfortable doing repairs with the phone, I have a lot of experience. What can I do to get service again?

You’ll probably find there is some corrosion on the logic board thats effecting your signal and also draining your battery through a possible short circuit. I’d disconnect the battery and remove the logic board and give the board a thorough clean with a soft toothbrush and isoproynol alchohol to remove any residue and corrosion.

Rice does absolutely nothing! It’s a myth! Your best bet is to get it professionally cleaned at a repair shop that uses ultrasonic cleaning. Toothbrush and 99.9% isypropyl alcohol can help a lot, use a toothbrush on most of it and also submerge it, but ultrasonic cleaning gets under the shields to, where your toothbrush can not.

Ged is absolutely correct. Rice is a myth. If your phone did work after a couple of days, its because the water naturally evaporated out by itself. EXAMPLE: If you left your car windows open during a rain storm, would you… A: Park the car in the garage with the windows up and put bags of rice around your car? B: Park your car in the sun with the windows down? I am a professional repair shop owner and I hear it all the time. Bring to a repair shop or at least turn it off and put the phone in a food dehydrator for a day !!!