Chosen Solution

My Acer Aspire R 15 model number N16P2 still says “No bootable device” when I turn it on. I replaced the original hard drive with a Samsung SSD 860 Evo. Is there something I was supposed to do to the new hard drive before install or is there something I am supposed to do now? I thought all I needed to do was swap drives.

You need to install an OS. You’ll need bootable media (either a USB or a disk), and inset that to start. You may have to amend your boot priority in the BIOS to match whichever method of media you’re using to install (ie if booting from a disk, select the disk drive as boot priority #1)

I had the same issue with a different laptop and a different ssd, I ended up having to connect it to another computer and go so disk management and configure the drive. Once it was done then I installed it in the laptop and was able to install windows on it. Every thing worked fine after that.