Chosen Solution

My fans start on high as soon as the Mac Pro is powered on. I believe that this may be caused by the ambient sensor. I purchased a new one, but cannot find where it is in the Mac Pro. • How do I find the sensor? • Do I need to do anything else before replacing the sensor? Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you. Shawn

@astintyme this will depend on your model and which sensor. Since you spoke about the ambient sensor, I would think you are talking about the Intake Ambient Temperature Sensor Apple part number 922-7731. That board is located on the inside left corner of the top panel, above the optical drive carrier:

Update (10/19/2018) @astintyme the sensor connects via a cable to the logic board. Here is an image of where (right below the HDD connector) and how it connects. Follow the yellow outline