Chosen Solution

I have a mid 2014 Macbook pro. It will not turn on if i just press the power button I must hold it for a while until the apple logo is on and then once it it is on it is very slow and the kernel task is at 240% right from the start up at idle. I have; reset the SMC and the NVRAM, reinstalled a new OS with a different SSD and downloaded TG Pro to see if the fans and the temp sensors are working.

Does anyone have some more suggestions as to diagnose my problem? I want to replace the logic board as a last resort.

Hi thank you for your help Dan I ended up replacing the logic board and now it works great now! Thanks!

What I find curious is the fan is not running beyond normal. Most of the time when I see Kernel_Task running this high the systems SMC has encountered a sensor error and the fan is running at a high RPM as well as the SMC goes into Safe Mode lowering the CPU’s clock (very high Kernel_Task). At this point I’m thinking you have a malware infection. Do you have an anti-virus/anti-malware app installed? Does it have the latest definitions?