Chosen Solution

I am going to sell my old Macbook Pro online and there are some sensitive data on the computer. I want to completely erase the Mac that no one can access the content with some data recovery software. How can I do that?

August’s answer is OK. But I would boot it Target Mode or from and external source. Then access the drive with Disk Utilities and use the “write zeros” option and reformat the drive.

Use the Disk Utility Application in recovery mode. Use the Erase tool and choose the highest security setting possible. Then reinstall OS X.

A single wipe is not secure enough to wipe your mac completely. You can use third-party apps to delete all files on your mac and use disk utility to format the drive. If you turn on Find My Mac on your computer, you can use iCloud to erase data on the Mac.