Chosen Solution

I replaced the original Hitashi hard disk by the Seagate Momentus XT. I tried to clone my already working system with SuperDuper as well as Carbon Copy Cloner. With the both ways the system couldn’t boot. A blinking folder icon with question mark was shown instead of the apple logo while booting.. blinking forever. However, I could boot it as external drive, connecting it via USB.. which is a sign that there is something wrong with the connection cable. I have also tried doing a fresh installation, but also with no hope. The installation was always failed with an error message. However, the installation was completed successfully when I connect it as external.. which is a second sign. Also, I could boot it successfully via USB after the installation completed (still connected as external.) Once I connect it back as internal, the same booting problem happened again (blinking folder icon with question mark, forever.) I have the feeling that the cable connecting the hard drive to the logic board has a problem. However, I don’t want to pay for it before I make sure of that.. Any idea/suggestion is greatly appreciated.

You may have cloned your old drive to a MS-DOS formatted drive or formatted non-GUID. In which case you could read it from an external. I would run disk utilities on it to check the format. If you do need to reformat be sure to set it to one partition and in the options select GUID.