Chosen Solution

The Powerbutton of my Macbook Pro seems to be broken (at least this is, was the applestore told me) and since they want 600€ for a complete replacemant of the case, i figured i might just bypass it and see if i can get it to boot another way, with the remote e.g. I just dont know how to bypass the powerbutton, on a normal motherboard normally just bridging the 2 pin connector from the powerbutton will do the job quite fine, but i just dont find the place, where to do it thats the board: http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/818

open the bottom case then you will see the keyboard jack and trackpad jack on the logic board near the trackpad there are 2 power pads by which you can start you mac without keyboard. first remove the trackpad jack from the logic board then you will see that pads . just short it . best of luck

Yes, granted I am not a Mac person, but I did check the service manual on this one. SIMRAN is right. I did check for the procedure and instead of quoting it, I attached it as an image. I also attached a picture for horror077 to clarify where the pads are. If one so desires, one may download the service manual for this computer from here I hope this will help out.

I recommend NOT trying ANY ‘shorting’ of your logic board. Your board is currently good, so don’t destroy it. The solution is simple, but takes a new keyboard/backlight & a complete removal of lower case components. If you can use a screw driver, have the correct tools, can follow directions & have patience this will cost about $100 US with parts (buy NEW on ebay) & tools (on iFixit). Good luck