Chosen Solution

I currently have a black Macbook 4,1 (A1181/2.4 GHz) with 2 GB of RAM. OLD :: It comes with FireWire, and cannot make any use of an eGPU currently. I am interested in finding out wether I can replace my current logic board with that of a newer , such as the Macbook 6,1 (White - Unibody), to make use of slightly newer technologies, while still keeping the same capabilities of (if not adding to those of) my current Macbook. This would also make future upgrades easier, in opposition to having to use MacPostFactor… The primary thing holding these devices back is their older GPUs (in this case, Intel GMA X3100), which is starting to cause some issues… I’m going to need to go parts-shopping… CURRENT :: I’m back from my shopping trip, and have just made a video about my recent decision. I looked at the prices for all component options. The cheapest prices for better RAM (20-30 USD/unit + shipping) and HDD/SSD (50-90 USD/unit + shipping) were a bit too high. I managed to grab the logic board for approx. 75 USD (including shipping). Now I just need a heatsink and a MB5,2 Superdrive replacement. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FB2c_S0k… In the video, you’ll also notice that there is a wire that has no place on the logic board to connect to. Here is a look at the original logic board:

A closer look at the area where the original wire would plug in…

A look at the same area on the newer logic board:

From what I’ve done so far*, it appears as though the orphaned wire was for an internal battery. In addition to this, someone on eBay recently (approx 1 week ago) posted the Superdrive and Heat-sink/fan pairing I needed - for under 11 USD each. The thermal paste was under 3 USD. The video here… https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hFRvgcKA

If you want, you could replace the bottom case and logic board, then have a MacBook 5,2 so you can run El Captain or Sierra if you can do a little hacking :) The bottom case heatsink mounting screws are in different locations, that’s why a said replace both.

I don’t believe you can replace the logic board with a newer version. As of early 2009, they essentially began constructing MacBooks Pro’s logic boards differently (i5 & i7 series CPU’s) so that any and all upgrades were impossible. I have held onto my Unibody late 2008 model just for this reason. Though I’d not replace a logic board, I would absolutely replace the HDD for an SDD and upgrade the RAM. Wait until you see the difference between 2 GB of RAM and 4…..it’s like a totally new machine! If it’s possible to modify… Good Luck!

I have done it! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hFRvgcKA