Chosen Solution

I was wondering how many slots are there and how much total maximum RAM it can take.

There are two RAM slots that you can fill with 4 GB RAM chips for a total of 8 GB. In the these series: MacBookPro5,2MacBookPro6,1 Only this series of the 17" MacBook Pro support 16 GB MacBookPro8,3 The older 17" MacBook Pro’s MacBookPro3,1 only supports 6 GB of RAM

What happens if you try to install 16 GB of RAM in a model that only supports 8 GB? I’ve seen before certain restrictions to be not true. Just wondering if that’s just not ‘recommended’ instead of really not compatible. thanks! This is the specs of my MacBook Pro: Model Name: MacBook ProModel Identifier: MacBookPro5,2Processor Name: Intel Core 2 DuoProcessor Speed: 2.66 GHzNumber of Processors: 1Total Number of Cores: 2L2 Cache: 6 MBMemory: 8 GBBus Speed: 1.07 GHz

You can install 16GB RAM in the 17" 2011 Macbook Pros if they have been updated to OS-X Mavericks (previously limited to 8GB max). Here are the only 17" models that can support 16 GB: MacBookPro8,3

My MacBook Pro is one of the MacBookPro5,2 series. I wasn’t notified automatically about the EFI upgrade… Although I upgraded to Maverick and I can see so much improvement… I would DEFINITELY put more RAM tomorrow if i could… I just can’t know if mine will accept it or not… since the EFI hasn’t been proposed by apple

Last 3 digits of mine are 8YA. Can anyone tell me how much I can install?