Chosen Solution

This is a “new to me” calculator I just got. The reason I need to open it is there was a prior battery leak , as I have found some evidence of :-(. This isn’t a deal breaker for me because it looks like it was cleaned well, but I want to open it to see if there is board damage. It’s been working fine for years as far as I know, but it’s better if I open it and make sure myself. It’s probably okay, but it’s more so I have closure on the state of the board itself. I already replaced the backup battery (LR44) as a precaution because it came with the original NL battery TI uses. I tried using my old style 64-bit driver kit to get in (it needs a T6 Torx) and it’s too short. As such, I need to know if I specifically need a standalone driver to get in or I can get away with a bit set with the right length. I figure the calculator experts here can tell me if I can get away with long driver bits or if I’m stuck without a standalone driver. Hopefully this helps, but here’s a photo of the length I’m dealing with:

I’ve never worked on a calculator as I’ve always had disposable ones like the TI-30X IIS (and many, many 4 function ones), so I’m not clueless but I’m also not armed with all the information I would prefer having as I’m about to open a $100+ calculator.

Update (2/27/19) The good news is the leak didn’t affect anything. It’s only cosmetic and the board survived. Just needed a good cleaning :-).

I’ve gotten it some longer bits lately and the [Torx Security TR6 / New ], may be just the ticket. I would ask Customer Support before ordering. https://help.ifixit.com iFixit Precision 4 mm Screwdriver Bit Of course if you want to sure it is long enough, just get the single driver: T6 Torx Screwdriver

I hope I’m interpreting your question correctly, but if your screwdriver is too short, then just getting a longer one will work. It does require a T6. Have you tried looking at the disassembly guide? TI-84 Plus Disassembly