Chosen Solution

I recently had a problem with a very noisy fan. Everyone was saying I should replace it due to it already being worn out. I ordered a new fan for replacement from powerbookmedic. Also, I disassembled, cleaned and greased my noisy fan with a thick grease (technical petrolatum). This has been more than 2 months ago and still going fine. I am starting to think it can last a lot longer, but even if not — I wouldn’t have any problem with repeating a greasing process again. I don’t know what should I do with a new fan which I ordered. It is simply lying around useless. What is your experience with noisy fan greasing? How long can a thick grease last inside the fan bearing? And maybe anybody needs a new right fan for a good price?

Well you did more harm than good here ;-{ These fans are designed to run with very little lubrication! They use sintered bronze bearings which have been pressured oiled so they don’t technically need additional lubrication. Over time dust and grit can get into the bearing and wear the bearing so some people attempt to oil the bearings. While at the time you do lube the bearing it may sound much better but the oil or grease will attract more dust and grit. In addition the added friction of grease for such a tiny bearing will cause your fan to heat up and will drain the battery quicker. So what to do?? I would take the fan out and use a oilless spray cleaner to remove the grease and then use a little WD40