Chosen Solution

My trackpad has been acting erratically for the last few months. By “erratically” I mean it starts jumping around on the screen by itself moving and clicking, becoming practically uncontrollable with the trackpad because scrolling becomes really slow and is overpowered by the cursor’s own movement. At first this went away if I let the computer sit for a little while. Then it became continuous and now I am forced to use a USB mouse with it. Without the USB mouse the cursor does not always move by itself, but is always extremely slow - much slower than a normal responsive trackpad would be, even at the highest speed setting. My question is what I should do first to diagnose the issue? From searching a few forums, I found that it could be an issue with the trackpad, motherboard, or the battery pushing up on the trackpad if the battery is bad. A new unibody shell or motherboard are pricey, so I want to be sure before I buy one. Unfortunately I don’t have other old macs available that I could salvage for parts. How do I go about diagnosing/ fixing this? PS - at the moment my CD/DVD port is not accepting disks so I cannot boot from a disk I appreciate any help!!

Sounds like what’s ailing your optical drive might be related to your trackpad’s illness. You really need to connect an external optical drive and boot to your Hardware Test disk… The behavior of your trackpad could be caused by CPU/RAM issues. If this answer was helpful please remember to return an mark it Accepted.