Chosen Solution

Here is a brief history of my issue: One day after moving my laptop to a remote recording location, I returned home to find it unable to boot. The front LED would turn on, the drive would sound like it was booting and then it would turn off. When holding the button in, the light would blink for a few seconds. I took it to the Apple Store. They said it was probably the logic board. I asked why it would decide to just fail completely out of nowhere. He had no answer. I came home that night… tried to boot again for fun… and funny thing, it booted perfectly. Few weeks later the same issue happend. Kept trying it and it worked. Eventually it stopped. There is no logical explanation for my logic board to fail. I’m able to charge my battery and get a solid green light on my adapter. I’ve tried reseating the RAM, PRAM, SMC, etc. etc. I found “lemerise”’s very helpful tips about jumping the power pads to troubleshoot the top case. I removed the airport card, hard drive, optical drive and data cable and tried this. When I plugged in the power, the light was very very faint green. When I jumped the power pads it started blinking green and amber. I’m just curious as to what this means and where to go next? Why do I get a solid green light when the case is on but not when its removed? Any advice short of “take it to teh apple store lol buy apple care” would be greatly appreciated.

This is a bit of a long shot but just might do it. This is the Mac Pro that I use for a personal machine. If my battery drains all the way down it will not start till it has about 30 minutes of charge even with the MagSafe adapter plugged in. I can hit the power button and walk away and in 20 to 30 minutes come back and it will have booted. So try giving it a good charge, and then try it. You might want to download and run Coconut battery to get a better idea of the condition of your battery. http://www.coconut-flavour.com/coconutba