Chosen Solution

I was playing around with the BIOS settings and somehow I fat fingered the password not once, but twice.. and now I’m locked out of the computer entirely. I was trying to figure out what the difference was between the “User” password, and the “Administrator” password - and the difference is that “User” won’t allow the system to boot at all without that password. I’ve tried pulling the main power from the tiny little motherboard, and this appears to make no difference with these newer laptops which don’t have specific bios batteries to remove. Any suggestions?

Not the best video but it works so give it a try https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NZfFcHtY… Hope it helps

I did some more research on you laptop ,netbook with no cmos battery it has to use battery power and if disconnected will stay viable with static charge that remains in the board .So to drain the board disconnect the battery and hold down the power button for a few minutes then try it and see if it worked if it didn’t,disconnect the battery again and leave the battery disconnected for several days till all residual power is drawn off when you think you have all the residual power drained away plug in and try again . Hope this works better

You will find links to a couple of BIOS (or more correctly UEFI) password recovery sites here: https://therestartproject.org/wiki/UEFI_… Manufacturers seem to have leaned on Google not to index such sites but you can still find them through the Russian search engine Yandex.ru Regards - Philip

So every code seems to be the same except for the first character in Mihai’s case it was “A” as the first character in my case it was “1” the rest is all the same “BLDABLA”

Boot while while pressing/holding F2 to get into the BIOS / UEFIWhen the enter password window appears then press Alt + r“Enter rescue password” window will appear, with YYYY-MM-DD

Thanks for the help however I have tried this does and apparently it does not work on newer (2017+) Asus laptops. The computer will not allow you to press alt + r to get a rescue password entry opportunity. I have become very familiar with the “ pastebin link” solution and for me it appears the only choice is to send it to ASUS or replace the motherboard. There is no “CMOS “battery to remove as I understand it their is a residual charge left on the motherboard that keeps the BIOS current and unplugging it will not help. I cannot change the boot option and use an USB, port, SD card or anything to flash, recover or reset and this laptop as with most newer ones does not have any jumper opportunity to reset a password. Looks like there’s no way around it except to send it in. Oh a funny side note, tech support at Best buy geek squad member told me I might as well just throw the computer away! I should have got his boss and in educated but I chose Mercy as I need Mercy. Coming from a background of technical support/sustaining engineering for electro-mechanical machinery I am at least confident that was not the right answer! Apparently ASUS is tight-lipped on revealing the override password reset and understandably so. I am sad … I am going to the Asus YouTube channel and contact “JJ” all people should know and just ask him for some advice. Suggestions?

try going here https://bios-pw.org/ you type in wrong p/w then enter code into this web site

Boot while while pressing/holding F2 to get into the BIOS / UEFIWhen the enter password window appears then press Alt + r“Enter rescue password” window will appear, with YYYY-MM-DD when u get that date go to this website : https://www.biosbug.com/asus.php put the “YYYY-MM-DD” that shows on ur screen and it will generate a code. put that code on the Rescue password and done. u got reseted bios. Only works on Asus.

With all Windows 8 laptop or computers that have problems with Bios Security Password. What you can do enter your log in password or your normal log in password into the Bios Security. Press Enter and it will direct you to the Bios windows. On top search for Security go down to all the password type the same password into it and then enter when a window pops up to re-enter new password leave it blank. Just press Enter and it will just direct you to your normal log in.

Hay? I have been working on computers for many years now: To clear your Bios and C moss open the back of the computer: There is a small battery in the slot where the hard drive is red and black wires in it: Unplug that plug wait 15 minutes then plug it back in this will clear all C moss and Bios: Then you can open bios and C moss and re program to what ever you want to:

My PC decided that it wasn’t going to let me edit ANYTHING in BIOS, then it completely locked me out. I try to enter it by hitting ESC(ASUS Laptop), but it no longer works.

I wish i actually had an answer for you. I was actually gonna see if anyone was able to get anyhelp without paying an arm and a leg. I recently got a ASUS Gaming laptop. Ended up getting a hacker problem and fience decided to do i guess a factory reset. He entered the administrative password i guess and cant remember where he put it. Can you use letters numbers and anything else in the passwords. or is it just plain numbers. I have a whole new ballgame if you can use anything. I will be sending it back lol. Ill be here all day